Franklin Lakes gravity hill

What is a gravity hill? A Gravity Hill is essentially an optical illusion. The ground slopes down but because of the surrounding topography it appears as if you’re rolling uphill. There’s almost always a story about someone who died there long ago and that it’s their ghost pushing your car away from a dangerous intersection. Go ahead and sprinkle baby powder on your car hood, see if the ghost’s handprints appear. trust me, they won’t. it’s an illusion. A very cool illusion, but that’s all.

WARNING: it is often dangerous to try to get a gravity hill to work. Most likely the police will give you a ticket if they catch you. I do not encourage anyone to attempt to pull off this trick. If you try this stunt, it is your responsibility.

The gravity hill in Franklin Lakes is off of Route 208 (Ewing Ave exit). I just wish i knew if it was the north or South side. Based on pictures accompanying the WNJ article it appears to be off the northbound side. I’ve tried both sides unsuccessfully, so if anyone has info on this, I’d appreciate them sending it my waye. A word of warning: this is an exit ramp from a major highway. it is highly inadvisable to try doing this gravity hill. You run the risk of an accident or a ticket or both. This one is not worth it trying.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori on August 13, 2010 at 12:47 PM

    The exit is on 208 south

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brovero on March 17, 2009 at 9:31 AM

    You have a great web site and if it was around back when I was in High School, I would have gotten into a lot of trouble checking out all of the different things you post.

    Regarding Ewing Ave., I did this once when I was in High School with a bunch of friends and it actually works. When you get to the bottom of the hill, throw the car in neutral and you begin to roll backward or up the hill. I was born and raised in Wyckoff, the town next to where this is and all of the kids knew of the legend. Of course the police happened to be driving by and pulled me over. When they asked what I was doing, I told them “the thing” and he knew exactly what I was talking about. He told me to go home and never try it again, which I haven’t.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tuppiesmom on March 6, 2009 at 11:31 PM

    I love your web site. I live in CT. now but still consider myself a Jersey girl. I grew up there right down the road from pleasureland. I practically spent every minute there in the summer. It was a great place until mullers park had the big shootout and pleasureland had to close down because they couldn’t afford the security that the town wanted them to have. Anyway, the tale about Ewing Ave in Franklin Lakes is true. I have tried it a few times and it worked every time. Weather or not it has something to do with someone dying there, I doubt it, but it is very weird. Try it late at night. Keep up the good work with the web site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

