The Smallest House in NJ?

If this isn’t the smallest house in NJ, it’s still the smallest 4 room house I’ve ever seen. Located in Bloomfield, this tiny house measures approximately 10 ft by 16 feet, and yet has four rooms. It is situated on a slight incline and has a basement, and both floors have two rooms each. The fireplace and chimney is a nice touch.

The house is located 10 yards from a railroad and when I visited and spoke with the owner, they told me that speculation was that it may have at one time been a home for a crossing guard who operated the gates at the railroad crossing.

smallesthouse2

smallesthouse

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Valerie on November 21, 2012 at 12:10 AM

    I used to live fairly near it on Clarendon Place as a small child. I thought it was cool and wanted to have my own small house when I was grown up. Back then I was not planning on having a husband or child, just a cat.

    Reply

    • Posted by David on February 21, 2014 at 10:38 PM

      Valerie, where on Clarendon did you live. I’ve been living at 18 Clarendon for6 years now. I love the street and would love to know if you knew the people that lived here and any stories about the house.
      Thank you.
      David

      Reply

  2. Posted by American Heavy on July 3, 2010 at 10:35 PM

    what street is this on?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Doris on March 18, 2009 at 12:27 PM

    I thought this was cool! I can’t believe there are actually four rooms in that house. I would think there was only one. They muxt be awfully small rooms.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Elizabeth on March 12, 2009 at 4:00 PM

    In comment to NJ’s smallest house it is not true that someone from the railroad stayed or lived in it. The architect who designed our house lived in it and built it. We live next door.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

