Jet in the Woods Identified!

After a great amount of debate over what model plane the jet was, the question has been answered definitively.

This is an email I got from Ian

I went and visited the crash site back a month or so and took alot of pix, came home and did some research. I wasn’t aware of this discussion board at the time, but figuring that orange and white paint generally indicates a trainer aircraft, I went looking for trainers used by the military during the 60’s. I saw in a few places people who thought this wreck was an F-80 or a T-33, among other things but there was always a section of the aircraft that just didn’t match up to those suggestions. Finally I ran across a picture of the Lockheed T2V-1 “Seastar” and I was convinced that the West Milford wreck was one of these jets. Everything matched up, from the position of the horizontal stabilizers on the tail section, to the style of intake. And once I was made aware of this site, and I read through all the posts, I was more convinced than ever. Now, a month later, I thought I would bring my friend out to see the crash since it was a nice day and we both are airplane lovers. Since there was alot less snow today due to the temperature, there was a bit more to see than the first time I visited. After spending a good hour or so examining the wreckage, close to the fuselage, near a hydraulic line in the starboard wing, I found a blue stamp on the now exposed ribs of the wing that reads: NAVY T2V-1. I think this should hopefully clear up any doubts as to the type of aircraft that crashed into the West Milford woods all those years ago. Cheers!

Here is a website about the T2V

7 responses to this post.

  1. […] A fan and fellow geocacher named Ian helped ID the plane after finding markings under the wing. This settled the debate.. I am friernds with local bergen record reporter Bill Ervolino and he wanted a weird neat local […]

    Reply

  2. […] here on my blog. It generated quite a debate over what kind of plane it was until a local geocacher located the model # on the wing. I visit periodically and the last time was about a year ago when I went showed it to Bergen Record […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mick on January 2, 2011 at 7:59 PM

    Yeah,but who flew it there and what happened,only the navy must know?

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on January 4, 2011 at 12:03 PM

      it was a trainer flight out on NY. their engine stalled and they crashed in the woods, both pilot and trainee survived with minor injuries. engine was helicoptered out but the fuselage was left behind because of how remote the crash site was (remote at the time anyway)

      Reply

  4. Posted by al on June 4, 2009 at 6:05 PM

    How do you find this? I tried with no luck?

    Do you have GPS coordinates?

    Thanks!
    al

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mike on March 18, 2009 at 9:29 AM

    just wanted to let you know, that I visited this plane in 1972 sad to see that it has been picked clean, when I was there the windshield was laying in front of it and most of the wiring and some of the intruments and other controls were still there, at the time you could still see were the trees were clipped off from where it came in I found it around 6:00 am and the mist was all around it, I was waiting for Rod Srerling to walk out from behind a tree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

