The Boat House of Hawthorne

There are many stories & rumors about the boat house of Hawthorne including one that it completely burnt down. I received a tip as to the location, and found the house easily. The Boat house did in fact suffer a fire, apparently years ago. The building is intact, but the inside suffered greatly. I took some exterior pictures but didn’t venture inside because it looked unsafe. You can clearly make out the nautical elements of the house, and I can only wonder if the inside was similarly themed….

boatdriveway

frontdeck

boatboardedup

In 2004 I went back to see if I could find any info about the house & when I got there I ran into some local kids. His friends had been up there numerous times and told me that there were tennis courts and stuff back there behind the house, so they showed me the way… I peeked into thru the windows and got some shots of the interior. I still wasn’t going to go in there… They claim that there nay have been a bomb shelter here but that doesn’t seem to me to be more then just a rumor. Some of the shots below were provided to me by people have explored the interior.

whitewalls

holeinwall

kitchenjunk

boilerroom

50 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joshua on May 8, 2013 at 6:11 PM

    where is the address of this pace?

    Reply

    • Posted by chris on April 9, 2014 at 3:54 PM

      do you live in hawthorne

      Reply

    • Posted by chris on August 30, 2014 at 9:19 PM

      there is no address but i was up there witha friend yesterday and it was creepy. it was cool at the same time there is a whole bunch of metal fence in the woods. there is a fire pit that as oll bunch of tin in it there is a lead dag bowl. ther is electricael pipe.it is a steep hill.

      Reply

  2. Hey that was a KGL kappa gamma lamda house had meetings there during the 1970’s. Makes me sick to lbd on the walls bunch of wannabes.

    Reply

    • Posted by Dario on June 28, 2016 at 3:32 PM

      What ever happened to KGL. I was president of the Haledon chapter during my senior year at Manchester Regional HS (1970).

      Reply

  3. Posted by Rich on November 18, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    Just and ole funny looking house.
    Played basketball there years ago when I was a kid (and the house was occupied).

    I remember thinking as I walked up it’s steep driveway…………wow, what a ole funny looking house.

    Guess now it’s an abandoned ole funny looking house. (if they didn’t knock it down yet.

    Any of you Hawthornites remember the jewish cemetary?

    Reply

    • Posted by chris on January 10, 2014 at 1:46 PM

      there is there cemetarys in hawthorne

      Reply

      • Posted by rit on January 10, 2014 at 2:02 PM

        there is one………very old…………….

        leave the dead alone……

        Last passing the “boat house”…….
        think it’s been leveled…

        Reply

        • Posted by EB on April 7, 2014 at 2:07 PM

          There were/are two cemeteries in Hawthorne – almost side by side – off of Lynack and/or Brockhuizen Lanes – one is an old Jewish cemetery …the other is an old Dutch cemetery … we used to go hiking and exploring up there when we were kids … was very cool … always intrigued by the history that lived there …

          Reply

    • Posted by chris on April 9, 2014 at 3:56 PM

      yes what about the other two the dutch and the cemetery and the one on wag

      Reply

  4. Posted by Tina on June 13, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    This had to be a awesome place. It is such a shame it has come to this

    Reply

  5. Posted by glen shehu on April 30, 2011 at 1:43 AM

    hi this is glen i live a couple blocks from the boat house. i used to go there when i was in middle school with friends.we always went together for fun and entertainment, because we always heard many weird creepy stories. i remember i went up with my friends, they were all scared to go inside so i went myself. it was dark and i honestly felt a little creeped out, i eas walking in and out the living room and kitchen. then i heard something move and saw 2 bright eyes. so i freaked out, me and my friends jet out there running as fast as we could. we felt like something was following us the whole time we ran down the hill because we heard noises behind us while running. there are alot of stories but the one i remember the most was an insane possessed man burning his house while his family was sleeping and then disappearing… also alot of people are saying there alot of broken glass by the windows. well that’s because me and my friends through stones and rocks at them.

    Reply

  6. Posted by MATT on April 18, 2011 at 5:07 PM

    hey i live right by the boat house me and my friend have gone thjere pretty wierd stuff happened.

    Reply

  7. Posted by amanda on August 14, 2010 at 12:38 PM

    Hi

    Does anybody know if someone ownes this house?

    Reply

    • Posted by Nicole on August 17, 2010 at 7:36 PM

      yes i do stay to hell out or you will go to jail got it.

      Reply

    • yeah i know the guy who owned the house he said he abandoned it because he has another house in hollywood. besides he became a millionaire and probably doesn’t care about Hawthorne anymore. but yeah he was a nice guy.

      Reply

    • Posted by taylor on April 9, 2012 at 12:06 PM

      Yeah I used to know the owner he left the house. He had an old victorian house in ridgewood.btw he was my uncle. And all of the rumors of him going crazy were true. RIP uncle Robert. He didn’t kill himself he died at the age of a natural cause. He was 87

      Reply

    • Posted by chris on January 10, 2014 at 1:47 PM

      yes

      Reply

  8. Posted by brishayacole on July 19, 2010 at 5:39 PM

    THis is katie the newest member of brishayacole. I want to explore this sooo bad. 🙂 hahaha shotgun nice shayla

    Reply

  9. Posted by gfyerakvthk on July 19, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    all u freaks need to lean how to spell! hahaha shotgun guy

    Reply

  10. Posted by amanda on July 19, 2010 at 5:35 PM

    you all need to learn how to spell!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Chris on July 3, 2010 at 6:21 AM

    yo just got back from there shit wasnt scary just cool as hell went all the way up floors were caved in mad bugs shit was tight dont go without a flashlight tho and wtf is up with that rooster

    Reply

  12. Posted by nik on May 9, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    I’ve gone couple times. Never alone! Usually with about 15 people. Even though it’s on a short hill, it is kind of the woods. (Not deep though). My friends and I haven’t completely explored it but they have been on the decks and on the first floor. There are no windows. I found a newspaper that was from November of 1993. Going there the first time, I knew what to expect by just looking at the garage. It smells like dead bodies. Okay, no doubt, you can’t deny it, you have to admit, there had to be at least someone that died there unfortunately. TONS OF BROKEN GLASS. My friend cut her leg and it’s slightly infected. I have heard about the bomb shelter, which isn’t hard to believe. I’ve also heard of the “basement of hell” which it is called because it is dark as black. There is a white sheet with blood on it on the first floor. I’ve also talked to my friends who have claimed they’ve seen shadows in the house. What I would like to know is how old is it. And the whole history of how it got that way. And I would want to know how many people died there. Which no one could help me with obviously. Ha ha. But I’m more afraid of druggies or gangs or people like that harming my friends in the middle of the woods. I can’t go with less than 10 people ha ha. Oh! And another thing. When i was walking to it, a small part of the house fell in front of me. As if someone threw it. No I don’t believe that but it must of fell pretty hard ha ha.

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on May 23, 2010 at 11:20 AM

      bomb shelter? i havent heard this story. what havwe you heard?

      Reply

    • Posted by Brishayacole on July 14, 2010 at 4:35 PM

      wow are you stupid. me (shayla) and my two friends (nicole and amanda) went and we explored the whole house. THERE ARE TONS OF WINDOWS. they is alot of broken glass and sink holes everywhere. An awesome balcony, and i am so gla we invested our finances in this house. 15 poeple is way more than enough try again soon, actually don’t trespaspers will be shot.

      Reply

    • there was. my mom’s friend is a psychic and she went to the house. She learned from some newspapers and books that an alcoholic man who used to be a boatsman murdered his wife and kids in that house and afterwards burnt it down. scary stuff.
      there’s a giant tree blocking the entrance now, and when my mom, friend, and i looked in the window there was a white face. needless to say im never going back there again 😛

      Reply

    • Posted by chris on January 10, 2014 at 1:53 PM

      no body died there but it was built in the 1700 and there is a cemetary around the cornor

      Reply

  13. Posted by Jenny on September 3, 2009 at 6:40 PM

    Hi my name is Jenny, I am 13 years old. My friends and I went to the boat house today. My friends were to scared to go up so I went up the big hill and when I got up there it had a devil sign on it, it was interseting. I went up the side of the house where the stares are and there was a tennis court in the back. I looked on the inside of the house and it was compleatly destroed! Well the story my friend told me that two married couple movied to the house. The wife likes boates so he made the house into a boat shape. His wife died of cancer shortly afer. The man disapred and was neaver heard of after his wife’s death.
    and sorry for the type o’s

    Reply

  14. Posted by Tiffany Chadwick on May 1, 2009 at 11:14 AM

    Hi,

    I have been interested in potentially purchasing this property and restoring it for some time. Can someone please let me know either the exact adress or let me know who owns it?

    I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thank you,

    Tiffany Chadwick

    Reply

    • Posted by Danny Rush on December 29, 2009 at 11:25 PM

      Hey,

      no offense but i honestly think that if you bought the property and restored it there would be alot of people upset with you. the boat house is one of the most interesting things about our town and it’s not something you can just take away from us.

      Reply

    • Posted by Brishayacole on July 14, 2010 at 4:41 PM

      we own it. it’s not for sale. we have a shot gun. hahahahahahaa don’t come

      Reply

  15. Posted by Grew Up in the Boathouse on April 13, 2009 at 2:41 PM

    Thanks to the last blog from ‘a neighbor’ for setting the record straight. I grew up in the boathouse and it was a wonderful, unique home. For those of you who knew me and my family, we can almost laugh at these stories that have been derived from creative minds. My father did not kill us, no ghosts… in fact.. no one ever even died in this house and there are no hauntings, just wonderful memories for my family and those lucky enough to have ever spent time on this luxurious estate. Yes, there is a bomb shelter. Yes, there is a tennis court. Yes, there is a library and tower with views of the NYC skyline. “A neighbor” hit the nail on the head. A delinqent developer initially purchased the land to build a development of single family homes, with plans to keep the beauty of the landscape and even the tennis court for use by the community. Unfortunately, he went bankrupt soon afterward, which resulted in the shambles the house is now in. Nope.. sorry.. no money in there… but I can tell you where a few of my pets were buried.

    Reply

    • Posted by gspburnout on June 8, 2009 at 1:40 PM

      yo noone died there when U were but im sorry to say ur former home was taken over by drugies and gang lords enough people died there to last a long time

      Reply

    • Posted by L.F. on May 25, 2010 at 3:14 AM

      Dear, “Grew Up In the Boathouse”,

      I would love to hear from you about the history of the house and to see any pictures you have from when you lived there. I’ve been to the boat house a few times and have always been fascinated with it. if you are interested here is my email:
      sid_loves_nancy@yahoo.com
      I would very much appreciate your response!

      Reply

    • Posted by A neighbor of the boat house residents on June 25, 2010 at 11:48 AM

      I was a neighbor of the boathouse residents from 1970 to 1982. there was no murder ever commited in the house. My children and the son of the residents used to play flag football on the tennis courts. Some of the boys who played on those tennis courts names were Billy, Sean, Pete, Johnny, Sal, and Rick. The owners were fine people having bought the house which was built by a man who had it designed in the shape of a boat. I remember the house as being a beautiful estate. I could watch all of the neighborhood boys playing football while I prepared dinner and would call them home by ringing a bell.

      A developer bought the property and went bankrupt. The developer is still making plans to develop the property. It is a dangerous place to explore right now and my fear is that someone will get hurt. The property is off limits and I would advise strongly not to go there.

      Again, no murder or anything bad happened in this house. It was a home filled with love, until the people moved. Sorry to have to kill the legend, but facts are facts. I would love to relive those wonderful days when the voices of young boys filled the woods and the memories those woods still stir in their hearts.

      Reply

    • damn! i guess my family was trying to scare me by telling me some crazy stores xD your dad built this house? coolness

      Reply

  16. Posted by a neighbor on March 18, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    Sorry to burst your bubble, but the Boat House belonged to a nice family who moved away and sold the land to a delinquent developer who never did anything with it. It’s not haunted, there’s no money there, and the biggest problem the entire neighborhood faces is the deluge of delinquents that visit on a regular basis. I can only hope this dangerous eyesore is torn down before someone gets injured.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Justin on March 18, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    Hi, my name is Justin, and I’m 15 years old. I live about 3 miles away from the Boat House in Hawthorne, and occasionally I go there to hang out with people or just to freak some of my other friends out. After going there over 10 times, I’ve seen a safe in the basement that was pried open, crucified squirells, gang symbols, a ton of names on the walls, etc. A friend of mine also discovered a hole in the floor “the hard way.” Right when you’re going up the very last flight of stairs to the last balcony, go slow at the top, because there is a hole big enough to fall right through to the floor below. I’m also pretty sure that the reason it’s abandoned is because a man lost his mind one day, killing his wife and 2 daughters, then killing himself. Also, the house was only burnt down 1 time, and it was sometime between 1999-2001. Suprisingly the house is not unstable anywhere (yet?) and is still a good place to hang out, but the smell on the inside is absolutely disgusting, and all of the dust flying around inside really decreases the power of your flashlight. Many of the rumors told about this house’s history are not true. It is a very interesting place to investigate if your bored though. And that’s all that I know about it so far…

    Reply

  18. Posted by Robert on March 18, 2009 at 10:49 PM

    Hi my name is Robert and I’m 14 years old . I live in Hawthorne, NJ. I read about the Hawthorne Boat house on lynack road and I’ve been up there more a lot recently. I no the inside of the boat house like the inside of my own house. the floors are stable and will now cave in and nor will the ceiling. The story about the boat house on Lynack Rd. goes that there was a man who lived there with his family. He got extremely drunk one night and set the house on fire with his family in it and took off to Pennsylvania and died almost a week later in 1954.But the rumor goes on to say that he left all his valuables in the basement with a locked door. there is believed to be one or two or all of three things in the basement: guns, cocaine, and or money.But since then it has supposedly been burned down 4 more times due to fraternities and gangs.

    On the inside some friends and I found the living room, the kitchen, two bathrooms, a couple of bedrooms, the wash and boiler room, five different balconies, what seems to b a wine cellar, what seems to b an old library, and hundreds of gang, fraternity and people’s names. We have not found the basement with the locked door so we believe that under all the debris that there is a trap door to the basement. We just want to see if the legend is true and we have high hopes. On the tennis court in the back there were two people who died and supposedly their ghosts come out at night but that’s just a rumor. All around the outside of the house are different parts to a car like a hood, an exhaust and I think a muffler etc.

    We have ventured into every room top to bottom and all that there left to do is move all the debris and clean up to see what else we can find underneath all off the debris from the fire. We are also trying to knock down some board that cover the windows and doors for more light and we come fully equipped for anything that could happen. We bring pocket Knives at least 3 flashlight in case the others die, rope, etc. We have found different things such as broken glass, shotgun shells which we got rid of, cloths, blankets, gloves, an air conditioner, lots of burnt wood, a well outside and a broken old fashion TV outside. I hope all this helped you out.

    Reply

    • Posted by Dom on September 3, 2009 at 7:20 PM

      me and my friends go up there 2 sometimes its cool if u climb up the big hill u can some gang wrote sating and some sign underneath it it’s awsome. My friend told me if you look at the sign for a long time you can be possed but I don’t belive it caus im not possed lol.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

