Split Rock Road

Split Rock Road is in Hibernia, off Rt 23 via Green Pond Rd. When approached from either end it seems normal enough. If you head north on Split Rock Rd, look to the left just before it turns bumpy. You’ll see some stone structures built by a local artist. They also have llamas on the farm. It’s the mid-section of the road that inspires all the tall tales. here it becomes a small, bumpy, dirt road that seemingly leads to nowhere. As is typical of many such roads, there are rumors about albinos, cannibals, disgruntled crazies who shoot shotguns if you even drive down the road, etc. The creepiest part of the is when it becomes a small one lane bridge that skirts the edge of the reservoir. It looks to be 50 years old, and the caretakers cottage mid-span looks abandoned & derelict.

onelane

Below the damn is a Colonial era furnace, used to melt iron ore I believe.

fullonshot

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul on September 16, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    Have you ever noticed the anomaly in this photograph? Second railing in from the left– there is something there. Also, I believe it is “Splitrock”, one word.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christina on February 13, 2011 at 8:39 AM

    I grew up in Rockaway Township, generally all over Morris County in my youth. About a year ago my boyfriend and I decided to take a trip down Split Rock for shits and giggles – it mostly consisted of shits. It is true, this road is scary as hell at night, especially when you come upon a sign that reads after a couple minutes down, “PAVEMENT ENDS” – we were not excited about that, even if we were driving a Jeep. While driving on the unpaved portion of the road, it was really like off-roading on top of a bunch of potential land mines, there were not only potholes and ditches but possibly many ravines and canyons that we had to drive over.

    The one-lane bridge was very surreal, you cannot see anything at all around the bend; the entire bridge is a bend. Nevertheless, Split Rock was probably the scariest road I have been on but nothing happened. The only thing that we ended up with besides shaken nerves was that due to the sheer crappiness of the road, we broke the front exhaust of the Jeep and didn’t find out until we got home. It had to be welded back.

    Someone else mentioned in a comment the graveyard behind Katherine D. Malone Elementary School. When I was in fifth grade, we took a field trip taking a tour of Rockaway (I attended Birchwood Elementary) and we actually went to that eerie graveyard; during the day the surrounding area is beautiful. My teacher made us do rubbings with a paper and crayon from the gravestones. Not finding this remotely interesting at the time, I had to give in and decided to find one that was made of marble because I would get a more legible rubbing. After I was done, I saw that there were ants all over my legs, so I ran up to the teacher and asked for help. She told me to brush them off and walked away. Meanwhile, I was about to be the youngest person in history to suffer a heart attack as I furiously tried to brush and shake off all the ants that for some reason chose to crawl all over me. What a bitch.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Andy on March 20, 2009 at 9:30 AM

    Saw your web site about Split Rock reservoir. Similar to Barbara’s comments, I grew up in Marcella and also heard the true stories of finding two bodies floating in Split Rock near the dam in the early 1970’s. The murders were unknown, but it is belived they were gang related due to our close proximity of New York City. The shack was never manned and it does house the controls which control the flow of water out of the reservoir. It is creepy at night!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Beth Anne on March 19, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    Hello, my name is BethAnn. I’m 15 years old and since I just recently moved to the Greenpond/Marcella area I can contribute stories for you about Split Rock Road which is located about 5 minutes away from where I live. The road itself is very scary, but if you go off the road, by a big rock that says “keep out” there is a small grave. Also, my father knows the people who created the stone statues. They keep the llamas there to help them move the stones, or so that’s what they told my dad. If you look up above on the power lines right before turning off Upper Hibernia Road onto Split Rock Road there are shoes hanging from the power lines which are supposed to be signs of gangs that are located in the area. I don’t know when you received the pictures of split rock road, but I just visited the road again last week on preferably the twenty fifth of November. High school students often go their to get scared and have fun. The road looks a little more run down now then in the pictures that you have on your website. The fence is starting to wear away at the edges at the beginning of the bridge and there is spray-paint everywhere. If you contact me back I can maybe take pictures.

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on March 19, 2009 at 10:05 PM

      Where is the grave?

      Reply

      • Posted by Beth Anne on March 19, 2009 at 10:05 PM

        okay after coming onto the road with the llamas, and you are about to get onto the bridge, there is a big rock that is spray painted with KEEP OUT on it, and if you follow the little path down there, you can see the grave. Lately since it’s been raining and snowy I haven’t gone down there but if you can find it props to you!! haha. Umm also there is a women in rockaway borough that does everything naked. The kids nicknamed her “Norma the Nudist” if you walk by her house, you can see her through the window. In Morristown around speedwell avenue by the train station, there is a women called “the mud lady”. She is known to have schizophrenia but, she walks around with “mud” on her face. Any more questions make sure you contact me!!! Make sure you check out the sneakers hanging from the power lines on the corner of split rock and upper Hibernia, they are the gang symbols and look really freaky at night!!

        Reply

  5. Posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    I was just reading through the section of your website about Split Rock. I grew up on Split Rock Road, not too far up the hill from where the road becomes paved again and I just wanted to add my comments. My dad used to tell me of bodies that were found down by the reservoir a couple of times- apparently a result of mob executions. My dad always said that he’d seen lots of dark cars with New York plates going through there at odd times. When my Mom was 20 or so, she was actually trapped on the bridge by a cars that had blocked her on each side as she was crossing. They put their high beams on and were apparently just trying to scare her. It’s a very quiet area and our house, though a couple of miles up the road was positioned diagonally from the bridge and you could literally hear someone beeping their horn from out house. Well, my parents were newly married and dad, knowing my Mom should haven been home heard a car’s horn beeping and immediately jumped in his car. Once they saw the lights coming down the road both cars took off in different directions — one passing my dad on his way down to check on my Mom. I’ll admit, it’s a scary place at night! During a summer day however it’s a really cool place to explore. We used to walk from our house and pick wild blackberries along the way. We’d check out the old kilns that were used to melt iron ore. My dad had always said that the small “guard station” or “caretaker’s cottage” on the bridge was actually where the controls for the dam were — so I don’t think there was ever a “guard” watching over the reservoir. I do recall being about 5 or so (I’m 30 now) and seeing an old man once in a while who be in there apparently checking on things as my family went over the bridge. One other note … Split Rock Road is now an affluent area with many large homes. It’s true, in fact one family who resides on Split Rock Road are the Kohler’s – of Kohler fixtures/faucets.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Barbie on March 19, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    You can definitely get behind the school without being seen – on a weekend – it’s not uncommon for people to go hiking back there. Have you ever snooped around the trails and old railroad bed behind Picattiny arsenal? there’s a back road few know about called snake hill road that takes you into the back area of their property. There’s what looks like an abandoned rocket testing platform – old silos….old military housing…..an abandoned lake some say is contaminated with radioactive material…..lots of creepy stuff. As you pass KDM school on your left, about 1/2 way to the old mines I mentioned – on greenpond road, you’ll pass a lake that can been seen through the trees. This is before you get to the firehouse (or if you’re coming up greenpond road from route 80, it’ll be the left just after the firehouse. You’ll make a right onto snakehill road at end of the lake. You’ll see a big abandoned beach house on the beach area of the lake.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Barbie on March 19, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    I was just reading through the section of your website about Split Rock… I grew up on Split Rock Road, not too far up the hill from where the road becomes paved again and I just wanted to add my comments. My dad used to tell me of bodies that were found down by the reservoir a couple of times- apparently a result of mob executions. My dad always said that he’d seen lots of dark cars with New York plates going through there at odd times. When my Mom was 20 or so, she was actually trapped on the bridge by a cars that had blocked her on each side as she was crossing. They put their high beams on and were apparently just trying to scare her. It’s a very quiet area and our house, though a couple of miles up the road was positioned diagonally from the bridge and you could literally hear someone beeping their horn from out house. Well, my parents were newly married and dad, knowing my Mom should haven been home heard a car’s horn beeping and immediately jumped in his car. Once they saw the lights coming down the road both cars took off in different directions — one passing my dad on his way down to check on my Mom.

    I’ll admit, it’s a scary place at night! During a summer day however it’s a really cool place to explore. We used to walk from our house and pick wild blackberries along the way. We’d check out the old kilns that were used to melt iron ore. My dad had always said that the small “guard station” or “caretaker’s cottage” on the bridge was actually where the controls for the dam were — so I don’t think there was ever a “guard” watching over the reservoir. I do recall being about 5 or so (I’m 30 now) and seeing an old man once in a while who be in there apparently checking on things as my family went over the bridge. One other note … Split Rock Road is now an affluent area with many large homes. It’s true, in fact one family who resides on Split Rock Road are the Kohler’s – of Kohler fixtures/faucets.

    oh here’s something else you might want to explore. In the Split Rock Road area, on Greenpond Road – KDM school – (Katherine D. Malone) – behind the school there are trails that lead into the old mine areas. Old homestead foundations and small scattered family grave sites with tombstones can be found. It’s really weird because you’ll be walking through the trails in the woods and suddenly you’ll come across a group of old miner’s tombstones – sometimes those of young children too. there are a lot of old abandoned houses back there. You can also access the other side of these areas by continuing past KDM school – you’ll pass a fire house and then a small deli. Just after the deli you’ll go over a small bridge and make a quick left into a clearing. There used to be a post office there that has been torn down – but you can see where it was. Back through there in the woods where the mountain is, there’s all sorts of creepy abandoned homes and grave sites. It’s really weird. One last oddity – at the top of split rock road – (right next to the house where I grew up) there are three weird small split rock stone houses that were built by a man I remember as a child called Mr. Anderson. They are made of the same stone that the stone artwork on split rock was made out of and they were all built by hand. This eccentric man made one for each of his daughters in the late 1950’s to early 1960’s. The first one even has a stone in ground pool with weird red and blue tile. After Mr. Anderson moved to Florida in the early 1970’s, the cottages were inhabited by hillbilly trailer people with about 50 cats. These homes have since been modified and renovated, but they are pretty unusual even now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

