Ted Sutter’s House

When people say the words “lawn art” people think pink flamingos, concrete rabbit planters and road signs. Although what Ted Sutter has done with his home could be called lawn art, that would be an injustice to what he does. I don’t think you can call him an artists either because these aren’t exactly original pieces either. Whatever you want to call it, it’s definitely hilarious. Like other people who have decorated their home with all sorts of things, (like Rudy Bramm the artist, or Richie Zorzi the rocking horse/bowling ball collector) Ted Sutter marches to the beat of a different drummer, and he’s been doing it for 25 years. Perhaps the best stuff on his property are the humorous collectibles, from the stove used by the NASA astronauts on the moon to a propeller from Air Force One. He also has a commemorative marker for the spot where he gunned down a T-Rex, as well as a giant safe where he keeps his family jewels.The house has numerous signs, almost all of them hilarious, so paying attention is a must.

From articles I’ve read, Ted freely allows people to wander his property, but being a polite person, I rang the doorbell and spoke to his daughter Kinda, who gave me a tour and told me a little about Mr Sutter. Apparently Sutter has always decorated like this, going back to the days when he lived in Edgewater. There are several different “collections” throughout the property, including a collection of serving plates, beer mugs, and my favorite an entire wall full of cast iron frying pans. He gets his materials from garage sales, off the street, but most often from friends & relatives who say, “Here’s something weird I found, thought you could use it.” According to his wife, the property is done, but he’s not done with his passion for…decorating. He recently decorated his van, covering it with over 2000 different objects. He turned to his van as a mobile form of art because he was “done with the house”, or so said his wife.

fryingpan2

bundtcakes

downthefence

vanrear

spikejonesrock

dinosaur

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Janet on March 19, 2009 at 8:17 PM

    Is the TED SUTTER of “Ted Sutter House”, the same Ted Sutter who graduated from Dwight Morrow High School about 1949-1950? As I remember, he played football for Dwight and was from Edgewater. I grew up in Ridgefield and graduated from Dwight in 1951.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lauren on March 19, 2009 at 8:08 PM

    I found out about the site because I was bored one day, and I typed my grandpa’s name into a yahoo search, and your site came up. if you didn’t meet my mom, it was probably my aunt, but I have younger sisters, so it wasn’t me. my family is computer-illiterate, and I told my brother about the site, I’m not sure if he showed my parents or anything. my house was in weird NJ the magazine, and they saw that. my grandmother hates it, but my grandpa is extremely friendly, and I’m sure if you wanted an interview I could get you one. but beware, he loves meeting new people and will probably chew your ear off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

