The black pick up truck of Clinton Road

One of the greatest urban legends of Clinton Road is that you will be chased by a black pick up truck if you drive down it late at night. One weekend I drove down Clinton Road and I told the passenger in my car of the legend of the black pick up truck. She thought it was a big joke. “Black pickups trucks?” she said as she laughed. “What imaginations people have!” The day was mostly sunny and nothing terribly scary occurred while we drove the length of Clinton Rd, but a black pickup truck DID appear behind us. She thought this was hysterically funny so she took pictures.

rearviewmirror

pickupquick

pickup

pickuptimes2

So what’s the deal with the pick up trucks? The majority of Clinton Road has no side streets and no street lights. It a major thoroughfair from Route 23 to the northern end of West Milford. If you drive on it, any cars or pick up trucks behind you will appear to be following you. They really aren’t following you, there’s just nowhere for them to turn off. The area of West Milford is quite mountanous and pick up trucks are very popular among the local residents.And if they are tail gaiting you, that’s probably because a lot of people drive faster then they should on this treacherous road.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by guest on December 31, 2014 at 8:58 PM

    Stupid auto correct

    Reply

  2. Posted by guest on December 31, 2014 at 8:57 PM

    I dont believe that theres going to be the local residents pick-up truck is going to bee there all the time whenever someone’s there

    Reply

  3. a lot of blind spots help the procure this legend.. ALSO of ADVICE! it is illegal to step out of your car and walk these grounds without having a watershed pass through the state of NJ for hiking!

    Reply

  4. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my website thus i got here to go back the want?
    .I am trying to to find issues to enhance my website!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!
    !

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mary on September 9, 2012 at 6:59 PM

    I was not aware of this legend until today. I was on Clinton Rd today and a black pick up truck was tailgating my boyfriend and I. It just disappeared after a few miles. It was weird..

    Reply

  6. Posted by Carol Congdon on January 23, 2012 at 2:39 PM

    When did all all of these stories start? In the 70’s my friends and I used to go to Clinton Road often. We camped out at Terrace Pond and back in the woods off the bridge that’s supposedly haunted. We never had any kind of experiences, or even heard of any of this. The only thing I ever heard was that people had seen lions, supposedly left over from jungle habitat.

    Reply

  7. Does anyone know when they will re-open Clinton Rd I when on Oct. 9 2011 and it was barracade, very dissapointed after I drove form the city to see some action.

    Reply

  8. Posted by xkosh on November 26, 2010 at 4:04 AM

    I was on clinton road 2 nights ago (11/24) and a car did show up behind us, and it was a black truck, but it was an SUV. They were tailgating and then got mad and passed us because they probably lived there. After they passed us they were out, we didn’t even have enough time to see their breaklights. My friend has told me a story similar to the other one about a black Camaro or some other 80’s car coming and chasing you. It’s never happened to me, but subconsciously I think I hope for something to spook me.

    Reply

  9. Posted by randominternetguy on October 3, 2010 at 5:52 PM

    My theory is the local cult members don’t want people snooping around. So they are just following people around with trucks, BUT USING NIGHT VISION GOOGLES OR THEY KNOW THE TERRAIN VERY WELL, to navigate in the middle of the night without lights on ( so they can sneak up on people and ambush them). The “ghost truck” could be just some type of cult lookout guard to scare people away. Also there were some reports of a “red” or “black” truck, which probably means people were just switching out their cars for patrol, and that type of behavior just doesn’t seem the way an “earthbound spirit” typically behaves.

    Reply

  10. Posted by FlushClinker211 on March 16, 2010 at 12:33 AM

    me and my friends one sunday night out of bordem and curiosity drove to west milford from staten island just to see if any of these stories were credible. nothing out of the ordinary happened. we drove up the road from route 23 heading twords the lake, got to the lake area and made a u turn, lit up a blunt and went back down clinton road twords route 23. this was at the end of jan. 2010. it was extremly rainy and foggy, so i was driving slow since i had never been on clinton road before. it was about 9pm and the area was dead and out of no where a white, american made 80’s era car appeared behind me, swerved around me into the on-coming lane and sped up the road ahead of me and was gone. this was the only startling event of the 10 mile ride. probly locals impatient with me taking my time rather then ghosts. but this car was travling pretty fast for a car that heavy in rain with rear wheel drive, as my car has rear wheel too. the road is also very twisty so it seems like the car appeared out of no where but must have caught up to me as i was driving slow in the poor weather conditions. i must say the part of the road with dead mans turn and the bridge with the supposed ghost of the boy did make me feel edgey and creeped out, plus i had to go through that part of the road slow due to slick roads and fogg. maybe it was just the grass making my mind race and the eerie setting. i dunno. id like to give it a second go on a clear night so we can see into the woods from the car… fogg was bad that sunday…

    Reply

  11. oh this urban legend is real

    I drove down Clinton road with me and a couple friends and we thought “oh this road is a lie there’s no such thing as a ghost truck appearing out of nowhere and trying to run us off the road.” it was like 11PM and we were about 2 to 4 miles away from where we started and then my friend saw headlights blinking behind us over and over. We thought it was just a joke from someone trying to scare us. But then my friend told me “Speed Up! Speed Up! It’s coming faster!” This lasted fir about 5 to 10 minutes then it went away. We thought it would’ve been gone by then but then a couple minutes later. It came back and it kept getting closer and closer and i went faster and faster. when i got to the end of the road it just disappeared. You guys may not believe me but my friends and i believe it heavily and we’re not going back to Clinton road anytime soon O.o.

    Reply

  12. Hey Admin! Thanks, Forever web pages..

    Reply

  13. Posted by Danielle on January 16, 2010 at 8:06 PM

    The legend is supposedly if you drive down the street at nght, once you hit a certain turn in the street, headlights suddenly appear behind you out of nowhere and try to run you off the road. They only assume it’s a truck bc of the size of the headlights.

    Reply

  14. It awesome black pickup truck . It simply love it . It is black beauty .

    Reply

  15. Pick up Trucks-are knows speedsters now days it features good gear up engine ,It had dual benefit for a car & of trucks . It is beneficial .

    Reply

  16. Posted by Amanda on March 20, 2009 at 9:32 AM

    I would like to go and see if all of the stories are true but I would be too scared. I would like to see more pictures. I figured the black truck would be an older pickup

    Reply

    • Posted by Tab on February 6, 2010 at 1:31 AM

      i kinda agree with you on thinking it would be an older pickup truck, a new pickup kinda makes no sense for being a ghost story or whatever they consider it…if its true you would think that it would be like a truck from way back when.

      Reply

      • Posted by Dani on February 18, 2010 at 10:48 PM

        The story of the black pick up trucks is not a ghost one, it’s that there are “cults” that live and worship in the area and they don’t like you being there. My boyfriend has been on Clinton Road at night before when all the sudden headlights turned on 10 feet behind him. No idea where they came from but they must know the area really well!

        Reply

    • Posted by binko on October 1, 2010 at 9:37 PM

      me too but when i see videos that people take i just cant beleve it yea and were does the truck get its gas rite and how did it get like so crazy and the kkk well the leafers were red my dad went to take a wizz and saw heds with red sheets overe them

      Reply

Leave a Reply

