Barret Road

Until recently Barret Road was a dirt road, and recently was paved. I imagine this road, which crosses from Sussex County over the NY border, must’ve been very creepy before it was paved. There’s really nothing unusual or creepy now, although these seemingly abandoned buildings are kinda interesting. i say seemingly because I’m not entirely sure they are abandoned… I heeded the signs and stayed off the property and just took these roads shots.

barnett2001

barnett3001

barnett9001

4 responses to this post.

  1. Adore the podcast…have been following for a when.
    Just contributed on the fight (donation). Thanks for the function.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christina on February 13, 2011 at 7:38 AM

    I hate this road with a passion, and not because of the creepy factor – I couldn’t give a shit about that. I have a friend who lives in Vernon, about an hour and a half away from me and sometimes I take this road to his house. It is very windy and steep, it’s like driving up a goddamn wall. And holy shit do I mean steep – it is on par with Breakneck Road (name self-explanatory), but narrower and with more limited sight distance.

    The worst instance when driving on this street was a night when it was on-and-off raining, at that moment it was misting and the fog allowed me to see absolutely nothing in front of me – not even my headlights! It was so difficult to drive that I had to get out and make my boyfriend drive. Oh, and locals love to tailgate you when you are having trouble because they know their way around and don’t feel like getting stuck behind you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark on March 19, 2010 at 12:37 AM

    Barret Road connects Barry Drive in Barry Lakes, Vernon, NJ to Warwick NY. Its actually a great connection from that part of Vernon to Warwick. Otherwise you need to make a long loop-around. This saves you probably 20 minutes.
    It was unpaved up until a few years ago. At that time, it was a bit creepy at night. Long dirt road with no lights. The condition of the road didnt help either. Lots of ruts and potholes. People do live on the road and someone, I dont know who, puts cows out to pasture. The road is smooth now. Just beware of the sharp turns on either end.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cindy on October 21, 2009 at 5:13 PM

    Great pictures.. the place looks familiar, but I can’t place it… where exactly is Barret Road?
    Thanks Cindy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

