The Galleon Ship of Absecon

oldship

This old galleon ship can be seen on S Black Horse Pike in Absecon. Currently it functions as an antique shop, which makes sense considering how old this boat is. There once were a number of these ships sitting on roadsides throughout New Jersey, but the only other one burnt down a few years ago. It originally functioned as a rental office for the Absecon Beach Camp, then became a gas station before being it became what it is today. The shop was closed when I went by so I couldn’t go inside. I’d be quite curious to see if the inside is “normal” or it is similarly themed to appear as if you’re actually inside an old ship….

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mike B on May 20, 2014 at 9:42 PM

    That’s the WHITE Horse Pike (US 30) in Absecon, NJ

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amanda on June 22, 2010 at 12:21 AM

    I always thought thought of it as an old boat shaped antique place on the side of the road. I didn’t know it had so much history. It’s ashame it recently got torn down.

    Reply

  3. Hah I am honestly the only reply to your awesome writing?!?

    Reply

  4. If only more than 72 people could read about this..

    Reply

  5. It is so cool to see all of the different structures that were created at the Jersey Shore! A great place to live or visit!!

    Reply

  6. YO! My old home i just moved from is behind that old ship in this friendly neighborhood,(not the trailer park. It was the big gray house on reed road, birch hill.
    WOW! I can’t believe my old neighborhood was once the Abseacon Beach camp. I’M freaking out right now and I feel home sick now.
    THANK YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

