The Rocking Horse House

rocking

Rudy Bramm is an artist. Ted Sutter does it for fun, and also to be creative. Richie Zorzi decorates his house oddly because…. well because he can. It began when he placed a few bowling balls outside, just one of many things he and his wife have collected during their 35 years living in Kendall Park. Then people began dropping them off at his house. So, he added them in a decorative way. Then he added bowling pins, trophies and all manner of bowling paraphernalia. Then one day, someone felt he went too far. “I was up on my roof doing repairs when this guy comes by and asks if he can buy one of the bowling balls, so I said sure. Next thing I know this neighbor calls the cops saying I’m selling bowling balls! She took me to court, and I can’t prove it, but I think she set me up.” After a long court fight, the town fined him $500 and made him get rid of the bowling balls.

End of story, right? Wrong.

Zorzi soon began decorating his property with rocking horses, a special nod to his wife who enjoyed riding horses as a young girl. One day the judge came by to make sure he was in compliance, and he agreed that Zorzi & his wife were indeed collectors, and not just storing junk. He also admitted that maybe he shouldn’t have fined Zorzi. “What are you gonna do?” said the good natured Zorzi. As long as he doesn’t sell the horses, Zorzi can display as many as he wants.

rocking2

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dennis on December 21, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    @ Michael: I was a neighbor of Richie Zorzi for more than 40 years (right down Sturgis Rd. from his house) and your great uncle and aunt are two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. None of the old time neighbors ever cared what he did with his lawn, it was new people that stuck it to him!

    Reply

  2. Richie Zorzie (The Rocking Horse House owner) is my great uncle. he lives in Kendal Park, NJ and he has wife whos name is Lee. shes my great aunt. Richie also has a slightly younger sister who is my grandma. she has 2 daughters and a son. The middle daughter is my mom. No the rocking horses are still there but some have been stolen. and yes he is a collector…a collect of everything really. since i was little (before he got into Weird New Jersey) he was known as “The Junk Collector” or “Pack Rat”. My name is Michael and im 15 years old and also live in New Jersey. Please respond.

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on April 4, 2009 at 8:07 PM

      thanks for posting and nice to meet you. I’ve always meant to go down and interview mr zorzi (and get some better pictures). glad to see they are still there, although it sucks that some have been stolen. when you become uinfamous like that it’s not unexpected I guess.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

