Kip Corwin cemetery

The Kip Corwin cemetery is very old. Most of the graves (all 5 of them that I saw) date back to the early 1800’s. I researched this place out when I got home & I could find very little except passing references to the cemetery as having been established when the town was known as Lower Preakness. I really don’t know much else about this place because there aren’t any records (at least not over the internet) I’m sure if I contacted the Wayne Historical Association I might get more info, but I haven’t done that yet. What I can’t figure out is why the Association went to the trouble of placing a marker 10 years ago, but have left the graveyard locked off by a fence, and relatively untouched. Why bother placing the marker if you’re still going to ignore it?

kipmarker

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary Tiefenbacher on September 11, 2014 at 3:21 PM

    I live in the Van Saun house and have the headstones from the original owners. They had been in Kip burying ground and I never knew where it was. Are we able to get access to it? And are there still headstones there?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gary M. Ginocchio on April 30, 2010 at 4:36 PM

    I received an answer from Wayne Township today and it is posted below. Obviously my next adventure should be to the library to see what I can find there. They addressed the fact that the cemetery is in disrepair bysaying that it is a family cemetery. Read attached:

    On 4/30/2010 1:12:42 PM, Wayne Township Support wrote:
    Dear Mr. Ginocchio:
    Regarding the Kipp-Corwin cemetery: In general, historically, family cemeteries were maintained by families who owned them. Specifically, “inscriptions in Old Kip buying ground in lower Preakness and inscriptions in the Corwin plot, adjoining old Kip burying Ground” is in the appendix of the following book located in the Lockett room of the Wayne main public library:
    Preakness and Preakness Reformed Church: Passaic County New Jersey A History: 1695 – 1902 by George Warne Labaw, New York: Board of Preakness Reformed Church, 1902.

    It is a two-volume set. The inscriptions list the names and other information about those buried there.

    For further information on owners of the cemetery, you might search open public records at town hall such as deeds and tax records.

    Regards,
    Carol D’Alessandro
    Wayne Historic House Museums

    There you have it. Feel free to pursue this yourself, only because I don’t know when I can get to it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Gary M. Ginocchio on April 27, 2010 at 12:50 PM

    I was at this cemetery today 4/27/2010. I have been curious about it for a while. The story that I heard is that when the church, Calvary Temple Int, started their building project around 1988 or so they uncovered the cemetery and had to stop building. It was later established that some people in the congregation were actually relatives of the deceased and gave permission to the church to continue after the area was fenced off.I am also curious as to why the place was fenced and was in such disrepair. I will see what I can dig up,pardon the punn.

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on April 28, 2010 at 6:54 PM

      definitely let me know, thanks.

      Reply

    • Posted by diane falk on June 2, 2012 at 12:23 PM

      Gary–thanks for the info about this cemetery. Where is it located? I gather it’s somewhere off of Preakness Avenue in Wayne by the church but I would like to visit as I need some photographs of the headstones. Thank you.

      Reply

      • Posted by lisa on June 25, 2012 at 10:39 PM

        LOL! Diane – I am curious too! It is not shown on the most recent township map.
        We just may have to take a visit to the library and look for the book that Carol, our town historian, recommended.

        Reply

        • Posted by diane falk on June 26, 2012 at 7:27 AM

          Hi Gary–I found the cemetery which is located behind an office building at the corner of Preakness Avenue and Valley Road.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

