Vultures in the graveyard

Located in Mt Holly Sacred Heart Cemetery is a graveyard that looks like any other. What makes it noteworthy is that vultures & buzzards have been seen in large numbers. Ummm… is this some tiny burg in Arizona? Is there a cattle skull lying out bleached in the blazing sun? Where are these vultures & buzzards coming from, and why would they hang out in a graveyard? It’s not just one, it’s supposedly up to a dozen at a time.

In my wife’s family they believe that crows represent the spirits of relatives who are deceased. So if we see a crow, it’s grandpa saying hello. If we see several, its grandpa and grandma. So what the heck does a buzzard or vulture mean? I just recently visited & didn’t see any vultures. it is a very old cemetery with some interesting headstones, but if it weren’t for the vultures this would rank as a fairly average cemetery. There weren’t any unusual headstones or odd inscriptions.

vultures

photo courtesy of neworleanz

facts about vultures

sad

majorcross

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bob justice on May 1, 2016 at 2:11 PM

    For the last three year or more, we have having the same thing in New Castle, IN. There are around 40 that come around and roost and night. Today, 5-1-16 I was listening to a sermon on the radio and and something said made me think about it. Matt 24:28
    “Wherever the corpse is, there the vultures will gather.
    NASU
    This is a sign that Jesus gave as to His return!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nathaniel on November 11, 2012 at 10:04 PM

    I have observed the same problem at a graveyard in Wagram North Carolina at the Nazareth Baptist Church. 30 to 40 buzzards….rosting in trees….circling at times when there is movement on the ground below.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lydell Gilleylen on February 14, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    I live in Fayetteville, NC I work at the VA hospital directly across the street is a cemetary and we have the same situation. Turkey Vulteres circuling high in the sky and roosting in the trees across the street on the other side of the cemetary. This look so strange to me and my family! The birds are big and ugly too. That’s why I went on line to see if this is normal, because they can’t get at the bodies sooo why do they hang around? There are wood in the area with dear thats the only thing we can figure out! and this is in the city!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Yeager on October 5, 2010 at 4:23 PM

    I can tell you I used to live in mt holly at an apt complex while in the USAF at McGuire. I used to see these birds everyday. I’m not sure where the cemetary is but there is a 7-11 in town and a house on the right , right before it where these birds often are and sitting on the tops of the houses. This was in 2000 – 2004 I was recently trucking with my Uncle around there and out of curosity and telling m uncle about it we decide to go through Mt Holly as of 2009 these birds are STILL there. It’s so creppy I wonder what the people of the town think. I might just have to go down again to see if there still there but its freaky and these are not little each bird has to be abbout 3 ft tall or bigger. I have counted as many as 30 in one time .

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandi on April 3, 2009 at 8:16 AM

    I can tell you the buzzards are usually there in the morning (8-9 am). My dad sees them all the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

