The Trolley Graveyard

The Delaware Valley Short Line Museum was dedicated to both trolley cars and railroad cars and from what I’ve read their collection was fairly large. Located in Tansboro, NJ at some point in the late 60’s they decided to move to Jobstown. Unfortunately for the museum owners, they never bothered to consult with the town. When the town found out what the plan was, they established some sort of an ordinance that forbid the museum from operating.

My information is sketchy but apparently the owner split into two groups: the Penn’s Landing Trolley line, and Buckingham Valley Trolley.  Some of the museum pieces were shipped to Philly, but most were left in Jobstown, unprotected. Eventually they went bankrupt, and the pieces at both the Jobstown site & in Philadelphia were eventually destroyed thru a combination of weather,  arson, and vandalism.

nowindow

rearbus

thrurearwindow

wreckedcar

nowindow

moresides

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jim S on August 31, 2014 at 11:12 PM

    It’s in Windber, PA folks! (Your welcome)

    Reply

    • Posted by Tabitha on July 17, 2015 at 8:43 AM

      Can you tell me where exactly? I would love to check it out. I live in Windber so I’m familiar with the area.

      Reply

      • Posted by lostinjersey on July 17, 2015 at 8:49 PM

        this page is about a location in NJ. it was cleared out by the location township DPW several years ago. there is, however a similar one that still exists in Windber, PA. I do not know the location but would love to know. My understanding is it is on private property however.

        Reply

  2. Posted by joe on August 3, 2013 at 2:47 PM

    Was at Trolley Valhalla in 1971. You were right, there were two factions, the McKee fellows and Buckingham Valley. Some cars ran on the Delaware Avenue operation in Phila for several years while others rusted under I-95 until the animals attacked them. For a year or so, the Red Arrow center door car ran at the New Hope and Ivyland, but ceased soon after starting. Now I believe it is in Electric City at Steamtown. Keep in touch.

    Reply

    • The early operation at Tansboro was a “dogbone” of track set to PA trolley gauge so only Pennsylvania cars could run. The land was leased. A number of other groups probably rented space and moved some of their cars onto rails set to “standard” gauge in a nearby field. After the lease was not renewed, a number of the PA cars went to Penn’s Landing, etc. The cars owned by The Trolley Museum of NY sent to their new site in Kingston, NY where most of them still reside. They have track-age along the waterfront and run a motorized Johnstown car until overhead is put up.

      Reply

      • I just read another blog that said that the Tansboro site had dual gauge; I don’t seem to remember that, but I might have visited there prior to the trackwork being done.

        Reply

        • I checked my slide collection. The slides that I took at the Tansboro site in July, 1972, do not show dual gauge track. One of my slides shows a PRT car sitting on their main line next to what would be a passing track; neither had dual gauge. (As a side note, their entire trackage was next to a fenced-in field with a horse grazing nearby; the fence was electrified! Not visitor friendly, to say the least.)

          Reply

  3. Posted by Harrison on September 11, 2012 at 3:47 PM

    Could you find the address of it for me? I wanted to go with one of my friends, haven’t seen the site since the early ’80s. Wanted to visit the site regardless if they’re there or not.

    Thanks,
    Harrison

    Reply

    • Posted by lostinjersey on November 22, 2012 at 7:24 AM

      it has been a while since I was there and I tried to look in my records as to precisely where this was but I cant find it. sorry

      Reply

  4. Posted by Krystal on May 3, 2009 at 3:05 PM

    Ive been trying to get here for a while and i was wondering if you had a street address or directions how to get there. if you did it would be so helpfull. thanks and nice pictures by the way.

    Reply

  5. Posted by joe on April 11, 2009 at 9:09 PM

    Was at Trolley Valhalla in 1971. You were right, there were two factions, the McKee fellows and Buckingham Valley. Some cars ran on the Delaware Avenue operation in Phila for several years while others rusted under I-95 until the animals attacked them. For a year or so, the Red Arrow center door car ran at the New Hope and Ivyland, but ceased soon after starting. Now I believe it is in Electric City at Steamtown. Keep in touch. Nice descriptions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

