Blairstown Pet cemetery

I don’t really know much about the cemetery or it’s history. I can tell you that they accept all manner of animals including horses and gorilla, though the primary pets buried here are dogs and cats. The pet cemetery is off limits to the public, something I only discovered after wandering around. The sign is located once you get to the parking lot, and near the road (which would make sense) Needless to say I parked and headed to the right, never seeing the sign till I came back to my car.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sandra Rivera NYC on December 4, 2015 at 3:49 PM

    Hi don’t know if this blog is still working but I just came from there this morning my beloved family cat was buried there in 1973 so I was in the area coming from PA and stopped to check it out. It is in need of care taking. I called and left a message to a female voice message that does not mention if it is Blairstown Pet Cemetary. I wanted to see if they keep records so I could pay my respects no return phone call. I stopped at the Vet down the street they don’t know either. Frustrating to say the least and hoping they will keep care taking up. I seen stones unturned, leaves that need blowing, road needs repair so on and so on. Sad and hoping to talk with someone and maybe get them some help.

    Reply

    • Posted by John on December 6, 2015 at 11:41 AM

      I also have a pet buried there. I have not been there In several years and was shocked to see how this once beautiful place has fallen into such disrepair. I heard that the owner was taking care of the cemetery but passed and his widow was trying to do the job but failed . I also have been keeping up with my yearly dues for upkeep. It took me sometime to find my pets grave in this mess. The owner should be ashamed of herself to let this place go from a beautiful cemetery to a junk yard. If I could I would take my beloved pet out of this mess and move her somewhere else but many years have passed and it is best to just let her rest in peace. I wish other people knew of this major problem then maybe something would be done about it..I have spoken to the lady that owned the place but only got a hard luck story. She is still taking everyones money for upkeep but doing nothing. Shame on her.If people only knew how their beloved pets were being taken care of they would be mortified.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dee Carpenter on January 1, 2012 at 1:34 PM

    I would write to the owner via address listed – I keep in touch with her annually through the mail and I live in Hawaii – I made a trip once and she even met me there to show me where my doggie was that was buried there in the early 60’s – I was only 2, but still keep up the maintenance fees – I hope all is well there after just reading about the bad flooding on Cedar Lake Road – I am worried – and can’t go and check obviously. If you hear anything please let me know – carpented004@hawaii.rr.com. Best wishes

    Reply

    • Posted by John on October 22, 2014 at 10:55 AM

      Hello, My name is John and I just came across you post. I also have a pet buried in blairstown many years ago. I was there several years ago and the place was still nice. I just went back last weekend and found the cemetery in a deplorable shape. It is all overgrown with weeds and trees have fallen down on top of grave stones. I was shocked to see how they have let the place go to ruins. If I could remove my dog I would have but it has been many years since she passed. I don’t know what they are doing with the maintenance fee we are paying them. All I know I keep getting a bill which I pay.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Diana Manzella on June 8, 2010 at 7:04 PM

    Can anyone tell me why no one at BPC answers the phone or returns phone calls. I need to speak with someone….how can I get in touch with them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

