White manna (with two N’s) wins!

The new show Food Feuds recently came to Jersey to settle the question of which White Manna is better? Jersey City with one N or Hackensack with two N’s? The outcome to me was never in doubt, but it was intersting to see the history of the two and the differences between the two burgers. I didn’t know that there were 5 WM’s I always thought it was just these two (the others all went under). As for the burgers, the biggest difference is that Hackensack uses a small potato bun which is about the same size as the burger, while Jersey City uses a full size bun which dwarfs the mini burger. To me this was always a turnoff: too much bun. As for the rest of the burger, hackensack is about 1.6 ozs and has no seasoning and has tons of sliced yellow onions. Jersey City’s are smaller, has a higher fat content, uses salt and pepper seasoning and uses diced white onions.

Gotta stop by tomorrow and congratulate the winner. Course it might take 2 hours to get my order.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m originally from Hackensack but I now live in the cultural desert of Central Louisiana, where there are no White Manna hamburgers except in a supermarket freezer. What I wouldn’t give to be down on River Street having those yummy little burgers right now — sitting at the counter with my father was one of the happiest memories of my childhood!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by jack on November 4, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    never heard of them sorry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

