Two amazing military finds

Find #1: These guys snuck aboard some abandoned naval vessels out SF.  And here I thought I was badass sneaking into Greystone. My only complaint is: you sneak aboard an abandoned Destroyer and you only post a dozen pictures?

Find #2: An abandoned military base (Vozdvizhenka Air Base apparently). I can’t be sure because the LjJ page is written in Cyrillic which I don’t speak or read. If anyone can tell me what it says I’d be appreciative.

4 responses to this post.

  1. There is no possible way i would miss the opp to get in the sea shadow…the gangplank was there and the hatch looked open to me!

    Reply

  2. Posted by baconbiter on February 2, 2012 at 8:09 AM

    There use to be a huge “mothball” fleet anchored on the Hudson river near Stony Point, NY. I remember seeing them in the early to mid 1960’s. They were mostly LSTs and Troop transports from WW-II. I heard they stored surplus grain on them because they were isolated in the middle of the river and rats and other vermin couldn’t get to them.

    They removed all of them sometime in the late 1970’s.

    I always wanted to get a boat and go out to them but I was afraid of getting caught by security.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mark on July 14, 2011 at 8:52 PM

    If you go to Google Translate and enter the web address of the site it gives a fair translation. Not great, but close enough to get an idea what they were doing.

    Reply

  4. Neat pics! I have to wonder about the sanity of the guys in SF tho.. First to board the ships, then to post incriminating photos of themselves..lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

